Evie Robinson – Her Bedroom

Can you describe your identity to me?

“It kind of depends who you ask because I’m completely different depending on who. But to me I guess I’m like loud and short. But… I don’t know inside I’m kind of terrified of everything but to everyone else it’s completely different.”

Why did you choose the place you did?

“Because it’s the centre of everything – like I’m kind of always here, even if it’s just sleeping, in my bedroom. But I don’t know…I like this place because it’s obviously going to be the most me. Like even if I’m sat here at like midnight looking out the window just kind of listening to the random conversations you hear it’s just…I don’t know it’s kind of one of my favourite places even if it’s not all good memories I have associated with here.”

How do you feel being you?

“I’m kind of…good I guess…yeah better than I have done in the past. I kind of for a while I was like not happy being me and it was all very like, negative thoughts towards myself but I think recently, especially physical appearance wise – like I really hated it – but now I’m getting more positive thoughts when I see myself.”

Do you feel in control of your body?

“In a way but I think especially growing up I always had these expectations of how I wanted my body to be and I could never have that which was, I don’t know, it was difficult for a while. Like I always wanted to be like, tall and super slim but obviously that’s just not my body-type. But I think I’m kind of growing to accept it because it’s healthy and fine so.”

When do you feel most you?

“I think around my friends like a close group of friends I feel like I never need to kind of limit what I say or what I do with certain people and I think obviously by myself…yeah I think around friends.”

Do you think you’re beautiful?

“Not really…I kind of…conflicted because I think everyone is in their, like how they’re their own person but then for me I’m sort of like it’s a lot easier to pick out why I don’t think I am but then with other people I think they are so I kind of feel like I should think I am but I don’t particularly.”

When did you feel most exposed?

“I don’t think there’s one exact moment more…I don’t know like when I’ve had to kind of talk about my feelings or whenever I kind of am embarrassed in front of a group of people. I always, I can’t really take that very well. I get like – I don’t know I’m kind of super sensitive to that. That’s quite exposing I guess.”

What moment of your life do you think made you discover who you are or do you think that moment is still to come?

“I think one significant moment is still to come but I think there’s been little moments that have kind of helped me discover who I am in that, like I kind of discover it through the people I want to be around and how that kind of changes to who I am currently.”

Leave a comment